#BrenE3

tl;dr: If you don’t give a damn, blacklist “#BrenE3” on Twitter this weekend.

Ugh, I’ve been trying to write this post on my lunch break for a week, but my laptop and WP appear to hate each other now.

Also, I’ve had a bit over a week now to have lunch breaks again, which is awesome.

But that’s not the point. The point is, and no one who’s followed me for a year or more will be surprised, that I’ll be on my usual E3 bullshit this weekend over on Twitter. I always start out with the intention of some sort of intelligent discussion and interest, but I’m not going to pretend that I don’t devolve into multiple posts of “SPORTZZ!!!@” for most of EA’s show in particular. Which is kind of backwards, since EA usually has what I want to see the most of (ie, Bioware), but gods, do they fill it with so much sports that I don’t care about.

Because I do have the new job, though, I’ll unfortunately be missing most of Monday’s shows. With that in mind, here’s my minimum E3 schedule this year:

  • Saturday
    • EA Play: 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern
  • Sunday
    • Microsoft: 1pm Pacific / 4pm Eastern
    • Bethesda: 6:30pm Pacific / 9:30pm Eastern
  • Monday
    • Sony: 6pm Pacific / 9pm Eastern

Unfortunately, the glaring void where Square and Ubisoft should be is obvious. And that sucks because I love their shows. Also, Tuesday’s Nintendo event is absent, but it’s always absent so that’s not terribly odd. In the past I’ve always had trouble getting that one to actually work (and I’m not just talking about the year that it didn’t work for anyone and everyone missed Mario Kart completely). We get so many Directs anyway, that it feels less severe to miss that one in June.

I’m sure I’ll be watching other in-between talk shows and stuff as well, but I don’t know which ones. I still don’t know how I feel about EA moving to Saturday, though; on the one hand, it makes everything much less frenetic, especially for those actually at the events. They need time to eat and sleep and just plain breathe. So really, that’s the most important thing. But the chaos was fun watching everything remotely, so while it’s better to spread things out me-on-my-sofa kind of misses it all being smushed together.

That’s your warning. I’ll be invading all the tags, so I’m sure I’ll be butting into all kinds of other conversations as I feel like it. But you know what? Butting into others’ convos for events like this always ends with making a ton of new friends, so yeah, sorry not sorry.

Anyway, what are you guys looking forward to? Who do we all thinks is going to win E3 2018?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s